Did you know?

Historic Denver is one of only two organizations allowed to host an event in the elegant lobby of the historic Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

46th Annual Dinner & Awards Ceremony

On November 2, 2016 Historic Denver hosted the Annual Dinner & Awards Program, presenting three individual awards and five community preservation awards and our newest award, the Remix Award.  More than 400 civic leaders, community members, and design/construction/real estate professionals attend the always sold-out event, and have the chance to mix and mingle in the elegant lobby of the historic Brown Palace Hotel.

Historic Denver: Community Preservation Awards 2016 from HaveyPro Cinema on Vimeo.

The 2016 Award Winners:

Keystone Award, David S. Cohen 

Ann Love Award, Sonia and Barry Danielsen 

Molly Brown Award, Pam Mahonchak 

Community Preservation Awards
-2801 Welton Street, Star Mesa Properties
-200 Block of South Lincoln Neighbors
-Joshel House, Scott van Vleet and Dominick Sekich
-Moffat Station, Balfour Senior Living
-McNichols Building, Denver Arts & Venues

New this year!
Remix Award - Backyard on Blake,  Fiona Arnold and Mainspring Development



Spectrum General Contractors, Inc.
Kirkpatrick Bank & Sprung Construction

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
Ekman Design Studio
Hein & Associates
Holland & Hart, LLP
Mainspring Developers
Palisade Partners
RedPeak Properties

City and County of Denver
David S. Cohen
Craine Architecture
Cushman & Wakefield
Danielsen Investments, LLC
Denver Arts and Venues
Dr. Robert and Georgianna Contiguglia
GKK Works
History Colorado
Humphries Poli Architects
Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie, LLP
Lucy Clark
MidFirst Bank
Moye White, LLP
Otten Johnson Robinson Neff & Ragonetti
RNL Design
Sopra Communities
South Lincoln Street Neighbors
St. Charles Town Company
Star Mesa Properties
Tryba Architects
Unico Properties
Windsor Dairy Block

Barry Rose Design · Havey Productions · Bottle Shop 33 · Bella Calla


Past Awards Programs

Each year at our Annual Dinner Historic Denver awards three individual achievement awards and several awards for deserving community preservation projects. With more than 40 years of history the honorees are now an impressive group of civic leaders. To learn more about past winners watch the awards videos from the last ten years!

2015 Awards 

Historic Denver: Community Preservation Awards 2015 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.


The 2015 Award Winners:

Keystone Award, Barb Pahl
Western Field Operations, National Trust for Historic Preservation

Ann Love Award, Jim Havey 
Havey Productions

Molly Brown Award, Cleo Parker Robinson
Cleo Parker Robinson Dance

Community Preservation Awards

Airedale- Ophelia’s Electric Soapbox / Hostel Fish,
Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Epworth Building
Former DPS Admin Building, 414 Fourteenth on the Ambassador
Centennial Hall (Formerly Treat Hall), Johnson & Wales University

2014 Annual Dinner & Awards: October 29, 2014

2013 Annual Dinner & Awards: October 28, 2013

Wednesday, October 23, 2013 Brown Palace Hotel and Spa Preservation is progress, and the 2013 Historic Denver Annual Dinner & Awards Program highlighted the innovative collaborations, creative solutions and cutting-edge thinking of those who invest in the past as we build for the future. For the forty-third year Historic Denver gathered 400 of the city’s civic and business leaders, design professionals, respected craftsmen and local advocates to celebrate the people and projects that made preservation possible this year.

Historic Denver: Community Preservation Awards 2013 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.


2012 Annual Dinner & Awards: October 30, 2012

Honorees: Ann Love Award, Bob & Suzanne Fanch; Molly Brown Award, Anna Jones; Keystone Award, Spectrum General Contracting; Community Preservation Awards: Marczyk's Fine Foods, Beth haMedrosh Hagodol – Church in the City, Colorado Realty Source at 1225 Logan, Denver City & County Building, National Trust for Historic Preservation's Emerson School.

Historic Denver: Community Preservation Awards 2012 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.

2011 Annual Dinner and Awards, November 2, 2011

The 2011 community preservation award winners included Bromwell Elementary for outstanding architecture and preservation education, those who have cared for and maintained the Daniels & Fisher Tower, Denver Water for the stewardship and sensitive addition at the Einfeldt Pump Station, Shirley Kenneally for her efforts to protect her home, the Mary Holland House, and SlaterPaull Architects for the sustainable conversion and restoration of Engine House No. 5 at 19th and Blake.

Four individuals were acknowledged for their contributions to preservation. Larry D. Williams will receive the Ann Love Award. The late Councilwoman Carla Madison was the recipient of the Molly Brown Award, created to honor a woman who demonstrates Margaret Brown’s commitment to community. The Keystone Award, given for lifetime achievement in historic preservation, was awarded to Lane & Ellen Ittelson.

Historic Denver: Community Preservation Awards 2011 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.

2010 Awards Video, Havey Productions:

Honorees: Keystone Award: Don & Carolyn Etter, Molly Brown Award: Susan Barnes-Gelt, Ann Love Award: Stephen Leonard.  Community Preservation Awards: Curtis Park Neighbors, Allen M. Ghost Historic District, Cornwall Apartments, Sage Building, 16th Street Mall Steering Committee.

Historic Denver Awards 2010 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.

2009 Awards Video, By Havey Productions

Honorees: Keystone Award: Peter Dominick, Molly Brown Award: Georgi Contiguglia, Ann Love Award: Mayor John Hickenlooper.  Community Preservation Awards: Aromor Apartments, Clayton Campus, Rocky Mountain Seed Company, Dry Ice Factory, Wazee Exhange.

Historic Denver Community Preservation Awards 2009 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.

2008 Awards Video by Havey Productions

Honorees: Keystone Award: Barbara & Dennis Baldwin, Molly Brown Award: Mary Voelz Chandler, Ann Love Award: Michael Henry.  Community Preservation Awards: Rock Island Building, American Woodman’s Life Building, Old San Raphael Neighborhood Association

Historic Denver: Annual Awards 2008 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.

2007 Awards Video, by Havey Productions

Honorees: Molly Brown Award: Ellen Fisher, Ann Love Award: Walter Isenberg.  Community Preservation Awards: Friends of Washington Park School, Historic Doyle Benton House, Landmark Preservation Commission of the City & County of Denver, Olinger Mortuary.

Historic Denver: Annual Awards 2007 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.

2006 Awards Video, by Havey Productions

Honorees: Molly Brown Award: Councilwoman Jeanne Robb, Ann Love Award: Joyce Meskis.  Community Preservation Awards: Project: Hughes/Brody Home, Colorado Colfax Marathon, Historic Bauer Building, Denver area Episcopal Church, Lowenstein Theater.

Historic Denver: Annual Awards 2006 from Havey Productions on Vimeo.